Artist: Blinders On

Country: Sweden
Genre: Punk/Hardcore
Reviews: You had me at hello (mp3)
Viewing posts 1-10 out of 10

New material from Blinders On

Swedish post-hardcore act Blinders On are streaming new material at myspace after a long break:
Keep an eye out for a new EP to be released in the near future.

Background Noise signs Rolf Fabian

Background Noise (Blinders On, Winny Lee) has announced the signing of Rolf Fabian (ex-Badger) and will be releasing his debut album "It kills!" on June 3 both on vinyl and as a free download. Look for the first single "Atishoo! Sneezed Hank W" to be released via Facebook on March 11 and to the general public two weeks later.

Lapko has sadly dropped off the Disco Ensemble tour halfway through, so they've cancelled their appearance at the upcoming IAT! Clubnight in Malmö later this month, but lucky for you we've got Blinders On stepping in to take their place. Expect a new 7" from those guys soon, too!

Listen to Major Major do an acoustic-flavored cover of "Pushing on 17" by Blinders On with guest vocals courtesy of Winnie Lee:

The playlist for this week's radio show:

01. Kaizers Orchestra - Ompa til du dør
02. TALK 1
03. Logh - Thieves in the palace
04. Élodie - At the end of the line
05. Beem - Ducker
06. TALK 2
07. Hell On Wheels - Alexander
08. Isolation Years - Albino child
09. Honey Is Cool - Bolero
10. TALK 3
11. Mob - Wait for me
12. Skywriter - For heaven's sake
13. Menfolk - Zero is also a number
14. TALK 4
15. Plain Fade - Datura
16. Division of Laura Lee - Dirty love
17. Det Gamla Landet - Det heliga landet
18. TALK 5
19. Elope - Black eyed citizen
20. Fontän - You, me & a tree
21. Gehenna - Touched and left for dead
22. TALK 6
23. Mustasch - I hunt alone
24. Cobolt - The Atlantic Ocean takes her back
25. Blinders On - Blinders are on
26. Madrugada - Higher
27. TALK 7
28. Dead Letters Spell Out Dead Words - I could have sworn I heard them SING
29. Notre Dame - Into the coven
30. TALK 8
31. The Motorhomes - The man

MP3: Blinders On - You had me at hello

Full disclosure: Blinders On singer/guitarist Jonas Appelqvist is a frequent It's a trap! contributor. We have similar taste in music, so it's no surprise that I also like his band. There is no clandestine financial relationship between us.
As Jonas himself pointed out in his recent review of The Sound O.E, the noisy-indierock/post-hardcore scene in Sweden is still very much alive and well, despite a few quiet years. All those bands Jonas lists? Blinders On fits right in. Like all the best examples of the genre, the songs are built on layers of jagged guitars and a heavy, driving rhythm section, but at the same time, always strongly informed by pop conventions. The textures may tend towards the dissonant, but there's always a melody lurking beneath the surface and a huge chorus around the corner. Great stuff and y'know what's even nicer? If you like the song I've posted today, you can head to the Blinders On website and download the band's entire new record "Obsolete music" for free. It doesn't get much better than that.

Blinders On - You had me at hello

Background Noise has posted an mp3 from the new Blinders On album "Obsolete music", due out January 17:
I've been fortunate enough to get a promo of said album and can definitely recommend it. Classic post-hardcore anthems that harken back to the 90s, before bands with eyeliner ruled the scene.

Top 10s for 2006: Staff picks

Swedish noiserockers Blinders On, the band of sometime IAT contributor Jonas Appelqvist, reports that they have finished tracking their new album "Obsolete music" and will soon have it mixed at Flatpig Studios in Malmö. No word on an exact release yet, but it will be through the band's own label Background Noise.

Blinders On, a new indie/emo band from Malmö, has posted their entire new 3-song demo online: