Artist: Desert Planet

Country: Finland
Genre: Electronic/Synth/Dance
Viewing posts 1-15 out of 62

MP3: Lumeet - Lyonesse Zero

Usually anything with the "space disco" tag is an instant turn-off for me, but Lumeet comes off more like 80s action movie montage soundtrack than the usual Balearia-inspired, cognoscenti-approved stuff I typically associate with the style. Simply put: If the retro analog electronics of fellow Finns Nightsatan or Desert Planet are your thing, you'll probably dig this too -- I know I do.
Check out the entire full-length album "Isadora Mu" at Bandcamp:

Lumeet - Lyonesse Zero

Desert Planet 10th anniversary tour

Desert Planet will be touring Germany in June to celebrate their 10th anniversary:

06/08 - West Germany, Berlin
06/09 - Club Stadtmitte, Karlsruhe
06/10 - Rote Sonne, München
06/11 - Radio freeFM (LIVE STREAM radio-show), Ulm
06/12 - Karlstorbahnhof, Heidelberg
06/14 - Waldbühne (Open-air Concert), Castrop-Rauxel
06/15 - Kanal21 (tv-show), Bielefeld
06/17 - Kulturzentrum Schlachthof, Bremen
06/18 - Kühlhaus, Flensburg
06/19 - Alternative Treibsand, Lübeck

The Finnish bit-poppers will also be releasing the new compilation album "Extra ball" on May 28 via in GAS and later on at home via .

Desert Planet present the Milky Way Underground

Finnish bitpop masters and "Reader's companion" alums Desert Planet celebrate their 10th anniversary with the unveiling of an extensive multimedia website featuring 30+ minutes of live video, art projects live phots and a full album download of their latest opus "Mortal Kombo". Hopefully you don't need me to tell you this is essential, but yeah, it is -- go now:

Desert Planet to celebrate 10 year anniversary in February

Finnish bitpop masters and "Reader's companion" alums Desert Planet will celebrate their 10th anniversary on February 19 with a huge multimedia website unveiling that includes a free album. I've been lucky enough to see an early preview and yes, it is awesome. Mark your calendars!

Desert Planet back to Germany, Switzerland

Finnish bit-poppers Desert Planet are heading on tour in May:

05/08 - Treibsand, Lübeck (GER)
05/09 - Westwerk 141, Osnabrück (GER)
05/10 - Asta Wohnzimmer, Lüneburg (GER)
05/12 - Club Stereo, Nürnberg (GER)
05/14 - Kaffee Burger, Berlin (GER)
05/16 - Club Helsinki, Zürich (CH)

MP3: Next Life - Sol blade

Videos games are no longer the niche domain of freaks and geeks, but I think it's safe to say that video game music still is. Sure, groups like Desert Planet have their crossover appeal, but you know that when fans are showing up wearing their Power Gloves, you're dealing with a limited audience. It's a shame too because there's actually a lot of good acts taking bitpop-inspired music in new directions, such as Norway's Next Life. They've got a lot of glitchy thrash that makes Single Unit so great 'cept not quite so ADD-addled. Songs play out as long as they need to, even if they max out at 2:40 at their most loquacious. "Sol blade" is median territory; a mere 1:19, but chock full of ideas and plenty epic. The tails-end lead-in to the next track ("Antartic blade", should you be wondering) is a total cliffhanger too. I don't fit the target audience of someone who can jam to this stuff daily, but it's way fun and always brings a smile to my face when I do put it on.

Next Life - Sol blade

Boing Boing ups Desert Planet

Better late than never, renown tech site Boing Boing finally discovers Finland's Desert Planet:

The St. Petersburg Times interviews IAT favorites Desert Planet:

Check out Desert Planet's brand new video for "Riot sector 68":
As with everything these dudes do, it is highly recommended.

Finnish bitpoppers and "Reader's companion" alums Desert Planet have now added the song "Three apples high" to the promo site for their new record "Moonrocks":

Here's this week's radio show playlist:

01. Desert Planet - Riot sector 68
02. TALK 1
03. Grande - We did it all
04. Sara Berg - Crawl back from under
05. Dialog Cet - Buckfighter
06. TALK 2
07. Doktor Kosmos - Doktor Kosmos släpper en skiva
08. Halph - Weight
09. Bright Oak - The undertow
10. TALK 3
11. Juvelen - They don't love you
12. Frivolvol - Take it from the beginning
13. Little Jimmy Reeves - Sidetracked
14. TALK 4
15. Keith Canisius - Omorose
16. The Kid - Mayhem troopers
17. Lognhalsmottagningen - Bodybuilder
18. Markus Krunegård - Rocken spelar ingen roll längre
19. TALK 5
20. Firefox AK - Techno tears
21. Biker Boy - April song (Mr Bananas remix)
22. Thomas Denver Jonsson - Saved by the bell
23. TALK 6
24. Nina Kinert - Pets & friends
25. Familjen - Hög luft
26. Brainbombs - Down in the gutter
27. TALK 7
28. Anders Persson och Carl Smith - Morgonsol i April
29. Abduktio - Uutisia rintamalta
30. Nordvargr - Rektal B
31. Karin Holmberg + hab - Who we are
32. TALK 8
33. Lapko - Killer whales
34. Madrugada - Lift me
35. Kristofer Åström & Hidden Truck - What I came here for
36. TALK 9
37. Sambassadeur - Subtle changes
38. Dreamboy - What have I done
39. The Tough Alliance - Lucky
40. TALK 10
41. Logh - Saturday nightmares

Spring tourdates for Finland's Desert Planet:

04/30 - Zebra, Neubrandenburg (GER)
05/01 - Mai-Festival, Lübeck (GER)
05/02 - Kaffee Burger, Berlin (GER)
05/05 - Kioski (Instore gig), Fürth (GER)
05/06 - Das Bett, Frankfurt (GER)
05/08 - TabTap, Schaffehausen (CH)
05/09 - Helsinki Club, Zürich (CH)
05/10 - Rockhouse Bar, Salzburg (AUS)

Stream multiple tracks from Desert Planet's new record "Moonrocks":
Very recommended!

Check out a tour film from Finnish bitpop superheroes Desert Planet:
It was filmed during the group's extensive 2006-07 tours in Germany, Austria, Switzerland, France and Finland and includes a few new songs performed live plus a new video for the track "Green fireballs" off their new record "Moonrocks".

Here's the playlist for this week's radio show:

01. The Bear Quartet - Put me back together
02. TALK 1
03. Karin Ström - Silent night
04. Camouflage - Syster sol
05. Ulf Ljusberg - Whatever was
06. TALK 2
07. Juvelen - Don't mess
08. Invocator - Breed of sin
09. The Grand Opening - Secrets revealed
10. TALK 3
11. Motorpsycho - For free
12. Coldworker - Flammable
13. Mixtapes & Cellmates - Photo Jenny
14. TALK 4
15. Egil Olsen - Singer/songwriter
16. Last Days of April - Will the violins be playing?
17. Desert Planet - Riot sector 68
18. TALK 5
19. Printer - Satisfaction
20. Psyke Project - Physical romance
21. Promise and the Monster - Light reflecting papers
22. TALK 6
23. Marybell Katastrophy - Hidden agenda
24. Pan Sonic - Johdin
25. Opération Zéro - Etude no. 1
26. TALK 7
27. Jonas Game - Nothing to lose
28. Mari Boine - Tundra flower
29. Vapnet - Plötsligt händer det inte
30. TALK 8
31. Moto Boy - Ride my wild heart
32. Markus Krunegård - Jag är en vampyr
33. Gravy - Behind my walls
34. TALK 9
35. Looptroop Rockers - The building
36. Victims - Victims in blood #5
37. Anna Leong - Guillotine
38. Zeigeist - Humanitarianism
39. TALK 10
40. Ef - Appendix