Artist: Final Exit

Country: Sweden
Genre: Punk/Hardcore
Reviews: Roles and rules (mp3)
Viewing posts 1-15 out of 27

David Sandström + Mixhell

David Sandström (Refused, Final Exit, AC4) and Igor Calavera (Mixhell, ex-Sepultura) jamming out at Scharinska in Umeå on May Day. Not the best quality, but still makes me wish I could've been there.

Direct link:

MP3: AC4 - Pigs lose

I had no doubts that AC4's self-titled debut would be decent even if some of David and Dennis' post-Refused/Final Exit meanderings have been sub-standard because I know their hearts are in the right place and they really do truly believe in what they're doing their place in the hardcore/punk/DIY world. And of course, there's no faulting the cred of their bandmates from The Vectors. My only point of contention: Dennis' vocals. His affected screech is pretty tiresome with The (International) Noise Conspiracy (not that Ian Svenonius did much better with Nation of Ullysses or The Make-Up, but I digress), but to hear him raging in full-on hardcore mode... I am satisfied. Still prefer David on the mic, but whatever, give me anti-cop anthem with a catchy chorus and I'm happy. Give me a few more (see also "Fuck the pigs", "Coptown") and what can I say? I love it.

AC4 - Pigs lose

AC4 - Assassination

Sound Pollution are streaming a new track from AC4 (ex-Refused/Final Exit/Step Forward) on their myspace page:
This is the sound of old dudes getting back to their roots and it's actually pretty damn good -- far better than you might expect even. There are also new tracks from DLK and Bonafide up there as well, but they are far less exciting.

AC4 to work with Deranged, release 2 7"s

The new album from AC4, the new band featuring David and Dennis of Refused/Final Exit, is out now via Ny Våg and a North American release is on the way via Deranged. Also look out for a new 6-track 7" and a 7" split before the end of the year.

AC4 album on the way, preview track available

AC4, the new band from Dennis and David of Refused/Final Exit, have completed their self-titled debut album and will be releasing it via Ny Våg in the near future. Listen to a track at the label's website:

Final Exit discography trailer

Check out a trailer for the upcoming Final Exit discography LP/live DVD coming out this fall via Monument Records:

Monument will finally release the Final Exit DVD, also sign Forever Young

In addition to the long-awaited Final Exit discography LP + live DVD, Monument Records has confirmed the signing of Umeå sXe hardcore act Forever Young and will be releasing their new CD very soon. Samples at myspace:

Monument Records will be releasing the Final Exit discography collection "Det egentliga Västerbotten" on vinyl next year along with a DVD of the band's somewhat recent reunion gig. Sweet!

Hell yes! Live video footage of the new Umeå hardcore band AC4 featuring ex-Final Exit/Refused members Dennis Lyxzén and David Sandström:

Here's this week's radio show playlist:

01. Siena Root - Waiting for the sun
02. TALK 1
03. Cult of Luna - Eternal kingdom
04. Svartbag - Black Capricorn
05. Kite - Ways to dance
06. TALK 2
07. Eero Johannes - Finnrexin
08. Looptroop Rockers - The building
09. Holiday for Strings - Touch the tiger
10. TALK 3
11. Silverbullit - Magnetic city
12. Thomas Denver Jonsson - My wardrobe
13. Samtidigt Som - Constant in motion
14. Wolfbrigade - Feelings you don't want to feel
15. TALK 4
16. Johndoe - Piggtråd og piss
17. Sol Andersson - All is full of love
18. King of All the Animals - The snowflake song (I Was A Teenage Satan Worshipper remix)
19. TALK 5
20. Last Days of April - You don't believe me (Monster & Maskiner remix)
21. Pacta Sunt Servanda - To claim your prize
22. The Goner - Spirit round-up
23. TALK 6
24. Tape - Altamira
25. Letum - Tallriksis
26. Zeigeist - Black milk
27. TALK 7
28. Knife and Ape - Semiotic dysfunction
29. Terveet Kädet - Message
30. Giant Boar - Chronic date
31. The Lionheart Brothers - Time river floaty
32. TALK 8
33. Echo Is Your Love - Lion tamer vs tigers
34. Agent Side Grinder - Lashes of flashes
35. Skitsystem - Solidaritetens sista utpost
36. TALK 9
37. Final Exit - Punk enough

Reminder: my show on Sirius Blog Radio runs Saturdays at 12 noon and midnight ET on channel 26 (Left of Center). My show is being preempted this coming weekend (05/24) for a special Memorial Day Block Party special, but I'll be back in full effect on June 7.

Ex-Refused/Final Exit members Dennis Lyxzén and David Sandström have started a brand new hardcore band together called AC4. The lineup features Dennis on vocals, David on bass, Kalle from The Vectors on guitar and Jens from Regulations on drums.

Södra Promenaden is offering up the 1989 demo from pre-Refused/Final Exit/Noise Conspiracy act Garbage Pailkids:

Here's the playlist for my radio show on Saturday:

01. Ted Gärdestad - Räcker jag till
02. TALK 1
03. The Setting Son - In a certain way
04. Beyond Dawn - TRNQL
05. Miss Li - Let her go
06. TALK 2
07. Jonna Lee - Dried out eyes
08. Death By Kite - Hiroshima
09. The Motorhomes - I wanna make you sing
10. TALK 3
11. Printer - Minds out
12. Alarma Man - Sweden, Sweden
13. Pistol Disco - Radiation
14. TALK 4
15. Knugen Faller - Lugna favoriter
16. Scraps of Tape - Since all the birds are moving, shouldn't we
17. Carpet People - If I lose my voice
18. TALK 5
19. Asha Ali - A promise broken
20. Ingenting - Punkdrommar
21. Holiday for Strings - I got two hands
22. TALK 6
23. NEI - City of gold
24. FAP - Sjömannen
25. Monoton - Hours
26. TALK 7
27. Deathbed - Everyday heroin
28. Dibaba - Go marching in
29. Johnossi - Execution song
30. Sista Sekunden - Se opp
31. TALK 8
32. Laakso - Worse case scenario
33. Tiger Lou - Sell out
34. Peter Bjorn and John - Matchmaker
35. TALK 9
36. Johndoe - Hardt som faen
37. Espen Jørgensen - Move ahead - quickly
38. Säkert! - Och jag grät mig till sömns efter alla dar
39. TALK 10
40. KVLR - Slow clapping
41. Anna Leong - 61
42. Final Exit - Bent out of shape
43. TALK 11
44. The Bear Quartet - Lights out, sound off

Check out Volyo, a Swedish experimental all-star group featuring Mats Gustafsson(The Thing, way too many other groups to list), Jens Nordén (Step Forward), Henrik Oja (Säkert!, The Spacious Mind), and David Sandström (Refused, Final Exit, etc.):
The group was put together by David for the Made-07 Festival in Umeå and the various tracks posted are live recordings from that show.

More footage from the Final Exit reunion, this time with better sound and multiple cameras:
Obviously filmed for an eventual DVD release I imagine.