Artist: No Privacy

Country: Denmark
Genre: Indie/Pop/Rock
Reviews: Steal my heart (mp3)
Viewing posts 1-12 out of 12

Danish rockers No Privacy have invited the infamous Anton Newcombe of Brian Jonestown Massacre to record a duet with them this weekend.

MP3: No Privacy - Steal my heart

I'm not gonna do the usual Friday flashback post today because I kind of did that yesterday, but I am going to take us back to 2007. I've mentioned Danish act No Privacy a few times in the past, but I never really caught up with them once they released their debut album "Crime and punishment" almost exactly one year ago. It's a shame too, 'cuz they're a great band deserving of more attention. "Steal my heart" is a total slow-burner. You know the whole time that it's gotta open up and let loose eventually and they tease you a bit, but even the chorus when it finally comes only hints at what's to come in the coda. Even still, they show enough restraint to leave you wanting more. As loud as it gets, it could still go bigger. I like that. There's also something very familiar and comforting about this band's sound. It's reminiscent of so much 90s alt-rock, but when pressed, I can't think of any examples to properly compare them to. Shame on me for sleeping on these guys for so long.

No Privacy - Steal my heart

Here's the playlist for this past weekend's radio show:

01. Pluxus - Bootstrap
02. TALK 1
03. Marit Bergman - Straight into my lovers arms
04. Grande Roses - Dead town
05. Mikko Singh - Rauha
06. TALK 2
07. Namur - Draw us near
08. Lapko - Sawyer the brother
09. Paper - To her
10. TALK 3
11. Johnossi - Train song
12. Markus Krunegård - Rocken spelar ingen roll längre
13. Printer - You need to
14. TALK 4
15. Firefox AK - Once I was like you (Boeoes Kaelstigen remix)
16. Aerial - Time is on fire
17. Sahara Hotnights - Visit to Vienna
18. TALK 5
19. Siena Root - Time will tell
20. Kristofer Åström - I collect knives
21. Anna Ternheim - Better be
22. TALK 6
23. Anna Leong - Guollotine
24. Folie - Krogg
25. Hearts of Black Science - Empty city lights
26. TALK 7
27. Inuit - En förlorad generation
28. The Psyke Project - Dark halls red floors
29. Memento Mori - Epilog
30. TALK 8
31. The Bear Quartet - Lights out, sound off
32. Fun - I know Ted Kennedy
33. Johan Heltne - Hjärta. Instinkt. Principer.
34. TALK 9
35. Lama - Bussi
36. Niccokick - Love & neon lights
37. Little Jimmy Reeves - Drowsy dogs
38. C.Aarmé - Visions
39. TALK 10
40. No Privacy - Blood over Denmark

Reminder: my show on Sirius Blog Radio runs Saturdays at 12 noon and midnight ET on channel 26 (Left of Center).

Danish rockers No Privacy will release their debut album "Crime and punishment" on May 21 via their own Mad Man Music label. Preview:

No Privacy has a microsite for their new single "The shadow" where you can not only watch and download a video for clip, but also download the mp3:
There's something about this band that I really like. There's something almost classic-rock about them, but it's more than that. They definitely aren't retro.

Danish act No Privacy has posted a new live video/short film for viewing:

No Privacy has posted a new song for download:

No Privacy has finished recording their new album and posted rough mixes for four of the songs for download:
Sounds pretty decent methinks.

No Privacy has split from Hard Soul Records. The band is currently wrapped up production on a new album that they recorded in their own studio for release sometime later this year.

No Privacy has a new website:

No Privacy has a new website up:

Danish band No Privacy has signed with US label Hard Soul who will release their debut full-length in January. An EP for the single "Beautiful Life" will be out in July. Hard Soul was founded by Trevor Randall, the executive VP from Acid Jazz Records in London, the label that signed Jamiroquai, the Brand New Heavies and Mother Earth. Be sure to check out the 'message from our president' on the Hard Soul site: