Artist: Royal Downfall

Viewing posts 1-15 out of 21

Royal Downfall - A flash of light

It's been five whole years since we've heard anything new from Umeå-based indierock act Royal Downfall, but they are finally back with a new song and a new EP on the way.

Check out a new no-budget video for "A backlash is here" from Umeå noiserockers Royal Downfall:
You can now also download the band's most recent album "These means have no end" for free via or The Pirate Bay.

Here's the playlist for this week's radio show:

01. Elias and the Wizzkids - Young and hairy
02. TALK 1
03. Barra Head - Common ground
04. Familjen - Kom säger dom
05. José González - Killing for love
06. TALK 2
07. Marybell Katastrophy - Red red lips
08. Trentemøller - Moan (Trentemøller remix ft. Ane Trolle)
09. Lykke Li - I'm good, I'm gone
10. TALK 3
11. Dreamboy - Stars
12. Laakso - Worst case scenario
13. Marit Bergman - This is the year
14. TALK 4
15. Abhinanda - Rumble
16. Docenterna - Bensin i blodet
17. The Bombhappies - And at Belle Bed Inn, I found you
18. TALK 5
19. Firefox AK - Winter rose (ft. Tiger Lou)
20. Peloton - Nozal
21. The Bell - Target group
22. TALK 6
23. Moto Boy - Young love
24. Aerial - Kallisti
25. Truckfighters - Atomic
26. TALK 7
27. I'm From Barcelona - Treehouse
28. Pascal - Smärtsillande
29. Hero Dishonest - Fist song
30. Vijaya - Your gun will never set you free
31. TALK 8
32. Matts Katt - About the French
33. C.Aarmé - Dustin
34. Leütenhaven - Abbatoir the ghost
35. TALK 9
36. Lukestar - Shade you hide
37. Christian Kjellvander - Two souls
38. Royal Downfall - A life of constant failure
39. TALK 10
40. Entombed - Lights out

Here's the playlist for this week's radio show:

01. Britta Persson - Cliffhanger
02. TALK 1
03. Death By Kite - Sweet M
04. KVLR - Traitors and thieves
05. Anna Ternheim - Today is a good day
06. TALK 2
07. Don Juan Dracula - Take me home (Johan Angebjörn remix feat. Sally Shapiro)
08. Amorphis - Weaving the incantation
09. Thomas Denver Jonsson - Dreams at the film club (feat. Nina Kinert)
10. TALK 3
11. Don't Be A Stranger - Lonely together
12. Madrugada - Tonight I have no words for you
13. Majessic Dreams - Have to go
14. TALK 4
15. Pavan - The bird
16. Bröderna Lindgren - Om en guldfisk (feat. Kristofer Åström)
17. The Tarantula Waltz - Where I end and you begin
18. Adam Tensta - They wanna know
19. TALK 5
20. Commando M Pigg - Mot stjärnorna
21. Gravy - Rock scientists
22. Jonas Game - ADHD
23. TALK 6
24. Linus Larsson & John Roger Olsson - In the shadow
25. Idiot Kid - Go to sleep
26. Mats Öberg - Cool water - på Den Gyldene Freden
27. TALK 7
28. Pascal - Längtar efter dig
29. The Bear Quartet - I would be poor
30. Peloton - Aranburu
31. Royal Downfall - Lightning strikes twice
32. TALK 8
33. Made In Sweden - Winter's a bummer
34. Erik Enocksson - The state the sea left me in
35. Asha Ali - Coward heart
36. TALK 9
37. A-ha - Celice

Royal Downfall - These means have no endRoyal Downfall
These means have no end


"These means have no end" sounds like one of those records from the late 1990s that was given such significance when Fugazi and Refused were suddenly revisited and proclaimed the "new black" as the whole hardcore/indie/emo scene exploded in the early 00s. And, while complementary in many ways, this dated element works both ways - instilling a sense of nostalgia, but also a sense of missed progression. All the components are here: the meandering assault of At the Drive-In paired alongside the more spacey approach of Sparta, the Fugazi bass lines wrapped with Promise Ring-esque guitar lines, and, just like many of those records, "These means have no end" grows on your more and more with each listen, but the overall punch is lacking force. That being said, Royal Downfall have made a record that deserves to be placed alongside many of the bands' works that I've noted here, faults and all. "A backlash is here" is anthemic, title track "These means have no end" has an ending that puts many electro-indie tracks to shame, and "March of the musicians" seems to take stock of the contemporary Swedish indie scene, incorporating some its more easily noticed elements (glockenspiels and all) into the band's regimen. My money's on the next album, but "These means have no end" has a welcome place in my record collection for the foreseeable future.
- Lars Garvey Laing-Peterson

Umeå-based post-hardcore act Royal Downfall has finally completed work on their second album "These means have no end" and will be releasing it via their very own label Luftslott. Listen to a few tracks at

Royal Downfall is offering up their contribution to the "Northern conspiracy" compilation as a free download:
Purchase said comp, either as CD or mp3: [click here]

Umeå-based indie/hardcore act Royal Downfall has posted two new songs on myspace:

Umeå-based post-hardcore act Royal Downfall will record a new album with Henrik Wiklund during the first week of November.

Stereo Test Kit has confirmed that the self-titled debut EP from We Are Soldiers We Have Guns will be out in October. As mentioned before, the band is fronted by Malin Dahlberg (Douglas Heart, Laurel Music) and features Robert Tenevall (Royal Downfall, Knugen Faller) and Pontus Wallgren (Douglas Heart).

Royal Downfall
Komkollsamhallet CDR

In the world of Bloc Party, Futureheads and other contemporaries of the angular indie-rock, Royal Downfall are one of the group, never the leader. My main beef with this record is that it is so goddamn bland; nothing jumps at you to get your attention. Honestly, you can feel a good energetic vibe going on but nothing more. Because the coming overabundance in the style, RD have to find an angle to get them over the cusp of the average band. Still, not a bad release.
- Simon Thibaudeau

The UK's Stereo Test Kit Records will be releasing a new EP from Sweden's We Are Soldiers We Have Guns this coming fall. The band started as the solo project of Malin Dahlberg from Douglas Heart and Laurel Music and now includes Robert Tenevall (Royal Downfall, Knugen Faller) and Pontus Wallgren (Franke, Douglas Heart, Afraid of Stairs) as backing musicians. The recording will be handled by Jon Brännström (ex-Refused, JFK) and you can hear samples of older home-recorded material at the band's website:

Umeå's Royal Downfall has posted a new demo track as their holiday gift to you:

Royal Downfall spent the weekend in Skellefteå recording basic tracks for a demo of eleven new songs.

Planekonomi act Royal Downfall is currently working on a tour for August. Email them if you want to help them out or have them play your town.