Artist: Siinai

Viewing posts 1-8 out of 8

Pitchfork reviews Siinai/Moonface collab

Pitchfork reviews the Siinai/Moonface collaboration "Heartbreaking bravery":

Siinai - Headed for the door

Hear a new track from Siinai off their forthcoming record "With Siinai: Heartbreaking bravery", due out April 17 via :

New Moonface album to feature Siinai

Finnish act Siinai have recorded a new album in collaboration with Canadian artist Moonface, aka Spencer Krug (Wolf Parade, Sunset Rubdown). The resulting work is entitled "With Siinai: Heartbreaking bravery" and will be released on April 17 via . Listen to a sample tune:

Siinai - Finish line (video)

A new clip from Finnish act Siinai.

Final nominees announced for Nordic Music Prize

The final 12 nominees for the 2011 Nordic Music Awards have been decided and they are as follows:

Ane Brun - It all starts with one
Lykke Li - Wounded rhymes
Rubik - Solar
Gus Gus - Arabian horse
Malk De Koijn - Toback to the fromtime
Siinai - Olympic game
Bjrk - Biophilia
Iceage - New brigade
Monte - Renditions of you
Anna Jrvinen - Anna sjlv tredje
Goran Kajfes - X/Y
The Field - Looping state of mind

Read more:

Nordic Music Prize 2011 semi-finalists

The semi-finalists for the 2011 Nordic Music Prize have been revealed:

Anna Ternheim - The night visitor
Jonathan Johansson - Klagomuren
Loney Dear - Hall music
The Field - Looping state of mind
Mattias Alkberg - Anarkist
Lykke Li - Wounded rhymes
Anna Jrvinen - Anna sjlv tredje
Deportees - Islands & shores
Veronica Maggio - Satan i gatan
Goran Kajfes - X/Y

Larsen & Furious Jane - Dolly
Michael Mller - A Month of Unrequited Love
Oh Land - Oh Land
Mikael Simpson - Noget Laant, Noget Blaat
The Late Great Fitzcarraldos - The Late Great Fitzcarraldos
Malk De Koijn - Toback To The Fromtime
Iceage - New Brigade
Thulebasen - Gate 5
When Saints Go Machine - Konkylie
Hymns From Nineveh - Hymns From Nineveh

Von Hertzen Brothers - Stars Aligned
Ryhk & Mattila - Kaksi lensi tuulen mukaan
22-Pistepirkko - Lime Green Delorean
French Films - Imaginary Future
Siinai - Olympic Games
Rubik - Solar
Regina - Soita mulle
Michael Monroe - Sensory Overdrive
Mirel Wagner - Mirel Wagner
Chisu - Kun valaistun

Sley - We Sink
Lay Low - Brostinn strengur
Ham - Svik, harmur og daui
Sin Fang - Summer Echoes
FM Belfast - Dont Want To Sleep
Gus Gus - Arabian Horse
Mugison - Hagll
Bjrk - Biophilia
Apparat Organ Quartet - Plfna

Razika - Program 91
Lars Vaular - Du betyr meg
Jonas Alaska - Jonas Alaska
Team Me - To The Treetops!
Ane Brun - It All Starts With One
Stein Torleif Bjella - Vonde Visu
120 Days - 120 Days II
Monte - Renditions Of You
John Olav Nilsen og Gjengen - Det nrmeste du kommer
Martin Hagfors - I like you

This list will eventually be culled down to a final 12 on December 1 before the winner is crowned on February 16.

The Arts Desk on new Scandinavian music

UK site The Arts Desk has posted a roundup of new Scandinavian releases including Tiger Baby, Splashgirl, Sacred Harp, Siinai, Jens Lekman and Edda Magnason:

Splendour signs Siinai

Norwegian label (Casiokids, Harrys Gym) has announced the signing of Finnish "Krautpop" act Siinai, apparently a very popular sound these days (see: Torpedo, This Is Head and many many others). Look for the band's debut album "Olympic games" to be released this summer and/or check out the video for the tune "Anthem part 1&2" right here: