Artist: This Is Head

Country: Sweden
Genre: Indie/Pop/Rock
Viewing posts 1-15 out of 38

This Is Head will record in March

This Is Head will begin recording their next album in March.

2012 Manifest Award winners

Here are the winners of the 2012 Manifest award, Sweden's indie/alternative Grammy:

Folk/Ballad: Siri Karlsson - Gran Fuego ()
Experimental: Hanna Hartman - H ^ 2 ()
Punk: Obnoxious Youth - The Eternal Void ()
Dance: Jonsson/Alter - Samlad årsproduktion ()
Hardrock: Opeth - Heritage ()
Rhythm: Simone Moreno - Planetas ()
Singer/Songwriter/Country/Americana: Ane Brun - It All Start With One ()
Rock: Pascal/Mattias Alkberg - Allt det här ()
Best Unsigned: Death By Armborst
Jazz: Jonas Holgersson - Snick Snack ()
Hip-Hop: Mofeta & Jerre - Briljanter & Smaragder ()
Synth: Necro Facility - Wintermute ()
Pop: Azure Blue - Rule of thirds ()
Best live act: This is Head ()
SKAP/Manifest Prize for best lyrics: Philip Ekström - Det Vackra Livet ()
SKAP/Manifest Prize for best composer: Maria Lindén - I Break Horses ()
Manifest Prize for best indie: Popkollo

2012 Manifest Award nominees

The nominees for the 2012 Manifest Awards, Sweden's alternative/indie Grammy, have been announced:

Marin/Marin – Småfolket ()
Merit Hemmingson – EQ ()
Navarra – Nya fönster ()
Siri Karlsson – Gran Fuego ()

Skudge – Samlad årsproduktion ()
Jonsson/Alter – Samlad årsproduktion ()
The Field – Looping State of mind ()
Pallers – The Sea Of Memories ()

Sju Svåra År – Storma varje hjärta ()
Obnoxious Youth – The Eternal Void ()
Vånna Inget – Allvar ()
Black Feet – Black Feet ()

Mofeta & Jerre – Briljanter & Smaragder ()
Ison & Fille – För evigt ()
Mohammed Ali – Vi ()
Roffe Ruff – Barrabas ()

Hans Appelqvist – Sjunga slutet nu ()
Hanna Hartman – H ^ 2 ()
Ophir – Opus Operatum ()
Midaircondo feat. Michala Østergaard-Nielsen – Reports on the Horizon ()

In Solitude – The World. The Flesh. The Devil ()
Opeth – Heritage ()
Terra Tenebrosa – The Tunnels ()
The Haunted – Unseen ()

Syster Sol – Kichinga! ()
Simone Moreno – Planetas ()
Kapten Röd – Fläcken Som Aldrig Går Bort ()
OK Star Orchestra – The Beat and the Melody ()

Azure Blue – Rule of thirds ()
Jonathan Johansson – Klagomuren ()
Korallreven – An album by Korallreven ()
Loney Dear – Hall Music ()

Pascal/Mattias Alkberg – Allt det här ()
Kajsa Grytt – En kvinna under påverkan ()
Bob Hund - Det överexponerade gömstället ()
Tramp – Indigo ()

Henric de la Cour – Henric de la Cour ()
Necro Facility – Wintermute ()
Mr Jones Machine – Monokrom ()
Covenant – Modern Ruin ()

Jonas Holgersson – Snick Snack ()
Parti & Minut – Från klart till halvklart ()
Priming Orchestra – Deep Blue ()
The Splendor – Delphian Palace ()

Best Unsigned:
Death By Armborst
Schizo and the Personalities

Brothers of End – Mount Inside ()
Ane Brun – It All Start With One ()
Promise & the Monster – Red Tide ()
Lars Bygdén – Songs I Wrote ()

Best live act:
Kriget ()
This is Head ()
Graveyard ()
Mattias Alkberg ()

Interesting to see and dominating their respective niches. Winners will be announced on February 3 at a ceremony at Nalen in Stockholm. Read more:

Spinner interviews This Is Head

Spinner talks to Swedish kraut/pop act This Is Head:

This Is Head - De trop (video)

A new video from This Is Head for the non-album track "De trop".

Splendour signs Siinai

Norwegian label (Casiokids, Harrys Gym) has announced the signing of Finnish "Krautpop" act Siinai, apparently a very popular sound these days (see: Torpedo, This Is Head and many many others). Look for the band's debut album "Olympic games" to be released this summer and/or check out the video for the tune "Anthem part 1&2" right here:

This Is Head talk to Clotted Artery

Clotted Artery interviews Swedish indie act This Is Head:

This Is Head - De trop

This Is Head's new 12" single "De trop" is out today via and the label is giving away the title track as a free download:
The b-side of the physical edition features two remixes of the tune "0007", one by one by Korallreven and another by Hans Appelqvist.

This Is Head - Det var jag (video)

This Is Head cover Familjen, the video. Not sure if it's just my computer or what, but it looks like something got seriously garbled from my vantage. Anyhow, here's the direct link:

New 12" from This Is Head coming in May

will be releasing a new 12" single from This Is Head on May 10 featuring the new track "De trop" backed by two b-side remixes of "0007", one by Korallreven and another by Hans Appelqvist.

Travel report: P3 Guld 2011

Travel report: P3 Guld 2011

This Is Head to tour in April

This Is Head will be touring Europe in April; dates confirmed so far:

04/15 - Sublime, Aflenz (AUS)
04/17 - Rhiz, Vienna (AUS)
04/20 - Galao, Stuttgart (GER)
04/21 - Hafen 2, Offenbach (GER)
04/22 - Ostpol, Dresden (GER)

This Is Head live at Rundgång

This Is Head doing a victory lap at hometown record store Rundgång in Malmö.

SR P3 Guld 2011 winners

All this talk of P3 Guld and I never even listed the winners! Here they are:

Best artist: Robyn - "Body talk pt. 1"
Guldmicken (best live artist): Robyn
Best song: "Dancing on my own" - Robyn
Best group: Johnossi - "Mavericks"
Best newcomer: Tove Styrke
Best dance: Skudge - Various productions
Best hip-hop/soul: Carlito - "Guldburen"
Best pop: This is Head - "0001"
Best rock/metal: Khoma - "A final storm"

Top tens for 2010: Daggan Stamenkovic (Novoton)