Tag: Awards

Gaffa awards

Swedish music mag Gaffa has launched their own awards initiative and will be doling out prizes in 12 categories (6 domestic-only) as determined by reader votes: http://gaffa.se/priset2010

By:Larm begets the Nordic Music Prize

Inspired by the British Mercury Music Prize, the folks behind Norway's By:Larm Festival have started the Nordic Music Prize which will feature 12 international nominees competing for a €20,000 prize, with the winner to be announced at the fest on February 19. For full details, including a who's who of the jury, see here: http://nordicmusicprize.com/

DMA2010 nominees are go

The nominees for the 2010 Danish Music Awards have been announced and they are fairly unexciting: http://www.pladebranchen.nu/?id=589
Winners will be announced on November 14.

Musikförläggarnas prisgala nominees

SMFF, aka Svenska Musikförläggarna aka the Swedish Music Publishers Association, have announced their nominees for their annual awards show:

Salem Al Fakir (Pompadore Publishing/EMI Music Publishing Scandinavia)
Nadir "RedOne" Khayat (Sony/ATV Music Publishing Scandinavia)
Martin "Max Martin" Sandberg/Johan "Shellback" Schuster (Maratone/Kobalt Music Scandinavia)
Oskar Linnros (Universal Music Publishing)
Johan "Familjen" Karlsson (Hybris/Air Chrysalis Scandinavia)
Markus Krunegård (Peermusic)
Melissa Horn (Manus)
Oskar Linnros (Universal Music Publishing)
"What's the point?" - John Engelbert (Johnossi) (Manus)
"Keep on walking" - Salem Al Fakir (Pompadore Publishing/EMI Music Publishing Scandinavia)
"Bad romance" - Nadir "RedOne" Khayat/Stefani "Lady Gaga" Germanotta (Sony/ATV Music Publishing Scandinavia)
"Från och med du" - Oskar Linnros/Christian Olsson (Universal Music Publishing)
Johan Moraeus (Air Chrysalis Scandinavia)
Johanna Söderberg/Klara Söderberg (First Aid Kit) (Warner/Chappell Music Scandinavia)
Anna von Hausswolff (Manus)
Andreas "Grega" Östeman (Astmabeat Publishing/EMI Music Publishing Scandinavia)

Full details and all categories: http://www.smff.se/?id=8&cid=3197

2010 Norwegian Folk Music Award winners

I don't keep up with folk music as much as I could/should, but I imagine that all of the winners of this past weekend's Norwegian Folk Music Awards are all well worth checking out: http://www.folkmusic.no/winners-of-the-norwegian-folk-music-awards.4818256.html

2010 Rockbjörnen nominees

In case you are curious, the final nominees for this year's Rockbjörnen have been announced: http://www.musikindustrin.se/artikel/1877/ROCKBJORNEN_LIVE_Arets_nomineringar_klara.html

Casiokids win A-ha million

As predicted, Casiokids picked up the fourth and final of the $1-million NOK A-ha stipend awards.

Susanne Sundfør wins A-ha million

As expected (and deserved), Susanne Sundfør is the 2nd recipient of A-ha's $1 million NOK stipend fund: http://www.aftenbladet.no/kultur/1227291/En_a-ha-million_til_Susanne_Sundfoer.html
Metal/jazz act Shining won the first million.

Shining FTW

Shining is first act to win 1 million NOK from A-ha's stipend fund competition, beating out runner-up Hanne Hukkelberg.

Spellemann winners announced

Here are the winners of this year's Spellemannprisen, the Norwegian equivilent to the Grammy:

Female Artist: Noora Noor - Soul Deep ()
Male Artist: Sivert Höyem - Moon Landing ()
Pop Group: Montée - Isle Of Now ()
Electronica: Röyksopp - Junior (/)
Rock: John Olav Nilsen & Gjengen - For Sant Til Å Være Godt ()
Metal: The Cumshots - A Life Less Necessary ()
Hip-hop: Tommy Tee - Studio Time ()
Jazz: Tord Gustavsen Ensemble - Restored, Returned ()
Open Class: Kristin Asbjørnsen - The Night Shines Like The Day (/)
Lyrics: Kjartan Kristiansen/Aslak Dørum - DumDum Boys; Tidsmaskin ()
Best Newcomer: Donkeyboy - Caught in a life (
Music Video: Donkeyboy - "Ambitions"
Hit of the Year: Donkeyboy - "Ambitions"
Spellemann of the Year: Alexander Rybak

More here: http://spellemann.no/

Ingrid Olava gets the Statoil money

Singer/songwriter Ingrid Olava is the recipient of this year's Statoil stipend: http://www.groove.no/html/news/63313376.html

Statoil stipend shortlist

Nö Music has the lowdown on this year's nominees for the Norwegian Statoil artist stipend: http://www.nomusicmedia.com/2010/01/30/nominees-for-statoil-funding-announced/
Also worth noting: a number of bands have refused to participate including hyped up-and-comers Kråkesølv, citing Statoil's offshore drilling near Lofoten as reason to protest.

Manifest 2010 winners

Here are the winners of the 2010 Manifest Awards, Sweden's alternative Grammy:

Punk/Hardcore: Troublemakers - Made in Sweden ()
Dance: Samuel L Session - The man with the case ()
Jazz: The Opposite - Intertwined ()
Dansband: Blender - Välkommen in ()
Rhythm: Jaqee - Kokoo Girl ()
Composer: Lisa Nordström and Lisen Rylander Löve (Midaircondo)
Lyrics: Ken Ring
Rock: Makeouts - In A Strange Land ()
Pop: El Perro Del Mar - Love Is Not Pop ()
Hårdrock/Metal: Abandon - The Dead End ()
Synth: Arvid - Andetag ()
Singer/songwriter: Kristofer Åström And The Rainaways - Sinkadus ()
Folk/ballad: Tore Berger - I huset långt på landet ()
Hip-hop: Mohammed Ali - Processen ()
Best poplabel:
Best live: Fever Ray ()
Best unsigned: Fulmakten

Read more: http://www.manifestgalan.se/125.aspx

Steppeulv a no-go

Soundvenue reports that the Steppeulv, the Danish music critics' prize, has been cancelled for this year: http://www.soundvenue.com/nyheder/2010/01/27/ingen-steppeulv-i-aar (in Danish)

Immortal turn down Spellemann

Immortal say "no thanks" to their Spellemannprisen nomination: http://www.nomusicmedia.com/2010/01/26/immortal-slams-door-on-spellemann-jury/