Do You Love Melena? - Owl connection

2nd single from Norwegian prog/indie act Do You Love Melena?, a new act featuring members from Pow Pow and Rumble in Rhodos. Look for the band's self-titled debut "Marathon" to be released on April 20 via . RIYL Mew, Mars Volta and/or maybe Muse.

All Will Be Quiet - Wide eyes and space flights

Can't say that I agree with the "post rock" genre designation, but let's not be too picky -- this is a decent example of expansive, melancholic rock from Finland that should appeal to fans of Mew and the like. Look for All Will Be Quiet to release their debut album "On the first day" this coming May via .

Frengers en français

Sometime IAT contributor Laura Studarus waxes rhapsodically on Mew for Under the Radar:

Under the Radar interviews Jonas Bjerre from Mew

Under the Radar talks to Mew frontman Jonas Bjerre about his new solo soundtrack release "Skyskraber" and the next Mew record:

Mew frontman goes solo

Mew frontman Jonas Bjerre will make his debut as a solo artist with the release of the soundtrack to his friend Rune Schjøtt's film "Skyskraber". Both the film and the music will be officially released in May with the first single "Kids don't fight" to be released for paid download on February 14.

The Apparatjik Light Space Modulator

The Coldplay/Mew/A-ha supergroup Apparatjik will be participating in an art installation called "The Apparatjik Light Space Modulator" at the Neue Nationalgalerie in Berlin during the weeks of March 13-27. There is no entrance fee to view the installation itself, but if you want to be a witness to any of the live performances (on the 12th, 26th and 27th, the latter in collaboration with the Deutsches Kammerorchester), you will need a ticket:

Mew laughs at ovum

Mew will be releasing a greatest hits comp on October 25 called "Eggs are funny" featuring a selection of 14 tracks from their career thus far plus one new unreleased cut called "Do you love it". Full tracklist:

1. Am I wry? No
2. Snow brigade
3. Introducing palace players
4. Beach
5. Silas the magic car
6. Wheels over me
7. Saliva (new mix)
8. She came home for Christmas
9. Sometimes life isn't easy
10. Do you love it
11. Eight flew over, one was destroyed
12. 156
13. Special
14. The zookeeper's boy
15. Comforting sounds

Festival report: SPOT Festival, Århus, days two and three

The William Blakes confirm new record

Danish indie act The William Blakes have confirmed that their new album "The way of the warrior", produced by Jon Schumann (Kent, Mew, Kashmir), will be released on September 13.

Mew - Beach (video)

Mew's new video for the song "Beach" is now online:

Apparatjik to play live, release album

Soundvenue is reporting that Apparatjik, the all-star project featuring Jonas Bjerre (Mew), Guy Berryman (Coldplay) and Magne Furuholmen (A-ha), will be making their live debut on February 1 at the CTM Festival in Berlin where they will perform inside of a glass cube. Or something like that. And they'll be releasing their full-length debut that day too. Read more: (in Danish)
More in English:

Coachella lineup announced

Fever Ray, Little Dragon, The Raveonettes and Mew are the Scandinavian acts confirmed for this year's Coachella Festival.

BBC on the best unheard albums of 2009

The BBC calls A Camp's "Colonia" one of the best albums you never heard in 2009:
Danish act Mew also gets a nod.

Top 10s for 2009: Turboweekend

Gaffa favorites for 2009

Danish mag Gaffa has announced their year-end best-of lists -- here are their top 10 favorite Danish albums:

01. Mew - No More Stories...
02. Nephew - DanmarkDenmark
03. Jens Unmack - Dagene Løber Som Heste
04. Troels Abrahamsen - WHT
05. Balstyrko - Jagten På Noget
06. Nikolaj Nørlund - Tid Og Sted
07. Raveonettes - In And Out Of Control
08. Selvmord - Selvmord
09. Cody - Songs
10. Mikael Simpson - Slaar Skaar

And the single list:

01. Nephew - Va Fangool!
02. Mew - Introducing Palace Players
03. Mikael Simpson - Inden Du Falder I Søvn
04. Raveonettes - Last Dance
05. Cody - Down In The Dark
06. Medina - Kun For Mig
07. The Rumour Said Fire - The Balcony
08. Mew - Repeaterbeater
09. Balstyrko - Intet Stopper Helt
10. Medina - Velkommen Til Medina

International picks and the full top 20 single list is here: